28.1 C
Los Angeles
Thursday, July 9, 2020

Trump administration adds Nigeria & 5 other countries to Travel ban list

Must read

Jay Gunz Death: Moment U.S based Ghanaian rapper was shot dead in his home

The CCTV footage of the moment U.S based Ghanaian rapper Jay Gunz was shot dead has been released. Jay Gunz was...

Hushpuppi is “absolutely not guilty, runs a legitimate business” – His legal representatives told Forbes

Nigerian Instagram celebrity, Ramon Abbas aka Hushpuppi is not guilty of the charges against him and he was running a legitimate business,...

Peanut burger: Here’s how to make this snack

These burger are a great tasty snack. Coated peanuts are popularly known in Nigeria as...

Magu went rogue and harassed Abdulsalami, Danjuma – Chairman of THISDAY editorial board, Olusegun Adeniyi reveals

Olusegun Adeniyi, chairman of THISDAY editorial board has narrated how the harassment of two allies of President Muhammadu Buhari without his knowledge, led to...

The US State Department on Friday night announced that it has put six new countries under its travel ban list.

Under a proclamation signed Friday by President Trump, citizens from Eritrea, Myanmar, Kyrgyzstan and Nigeria- Africa’s most populous country, won’t be allowed to apply for visas to immigrate to the U.S.

Two other countries, Sudan and Tanzania, will be barred from participating in the diversity visa lottery, which randomly awards green cards to 50,000 immigrants from underrepresented countries annually.

The six countries will join a list of seven nations, most of them Muslim-majority, which include Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, Venezuela and North Korea, that faced significant travel restrictions under President Trump’s original travel ban, issued in 2017.

However, unlike five of the original countries—Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen—travelers from the newly added nations who seek to visit the U.S. for business or pleasure will still be permitted entry.

The Trump administration which has made immigration reforms one of it’s benchmark policies, stated that the policy was designed to tighten security for countries that don’t comply with the U.S. minimum security standards or cooperate to prevent illegal immigration.

However, Homeland Security and State Department officials said some immigrants would be able to obtain waivers from the restrictions.

The ban, which has been approved by President Trump will take effect on February 22.

The administration says the travel ban is vital to national security and ensures countries meet US security needs when it comes to sharing vital information that can prevent and fight terrorism.

“The restrictions are tailored to country-specific deficiencies, as well as travel-related risks to the homeland,” a Department of Homeland Security official told reporters Friday.

More articles

Leave a Reply

Latest article

COVID-19: Benue State Assembly shut indefinitely

Makurdi.The Benue State House of Assembly has been shut indefinitely to allow members and staff to undergo COVID-19 screening and treatment.

We were afraid to confront Abia Church of Satan Founder — Resident

Residents of Ebem, Ohafia town in Abia State, where the Church of Satan was established, said they were afraid to confront the...

I procured one abortion, not 3, for my daughter — Incestuous Ogun pastor

A 44-year-old pastor of the Christ Apostolic Church (CAC), Oluwakemi Oyebola, was on Thursday paraded for allegedly having sexual intercourse with his...

Peanut burger: Here’s how to make this snack

These burger are a great tasty snack. Coated peanuts are popularly known in Nigeria as...

Badagry Slave Route: Slaves passed these 5 notable stops on their journey of no return

Over the course of three centuries, more than 500,000 africans were sold into slavery through Badagry's coast.